Old news

in reality, all of this has been a total load of old bollocks
Rayge

Old news

Postby Rayge » 05 Nov 2018, 08:59

I've been blathering on about this since the 1990s, but never before seen an article that agrees with me, and actually describes what happens.

https://www.theguardian.com/media/2013/ ... lf-dobelli
In timeless moments we live forever

You can't play a tune on an absolute

Negative Capability...when a man is capable of being in uncertainties, Mysteries, doubts, without any irritable reaching after fact & reason”

Loki
The Goddess of Mischief

Re: Old news

Postby Loki » 05 Nov 2018, 09:58

People suffering with depression are usually advised not to watch/read the news. It's depressing! Seriously.

whodathunkit wrote: Somewhere it's always 1972.

Earl E. Eel
hounds people off the board

Postby Earl E. Eel » 05 Nov 2018, 10:02

I don't know why anyone needs to know about most of the stuff that makes headlines. It doesn't benefit you to know that someone famous has committed fraud on a major scale, or that several people have died in a train crash somewhere. But people feel an urge to be 'updated', and they hate to be thought of as 'ignorant'.
GoogaMooga wrote:you have to look to the Dutch licensee, Disky

I've got more Disky product

a label like Dutch Disky

One comp to avoid, though, is Disky's "Best of the 70's"

Normally, Disky are clever at repackaging

The Modernist
2018 BCB Cup Champ!

Postby The Modernist » 05 Nov 2018, 10:30

I agree with a lot of the article, but I think the proposed solution is too extreme. I'd rather be far more selective in controlling my exposure to news.

Goat Boy
Bogarting the joint

Postby Goat Boy » 05 Nov 2018, 10:38