What did you want to be when you grew up?

in reality, all of this has been a total load of old bollocks
sloopjohnc

What did you want to be when you grew up?

Postby sloopjohnc » 26 Sep 2018, 16:57

I've been doing marketing communications for 25 years now (copywriting, advertising, PR, social media, direct marketing, graphic design supervision, online advertising, etc.) and it suits me just fine. Before that, I dabbled in teaching for five years on and off and was even an insurance broker for five years out of college.

What I really wanted to be was a garbage man or fire fighter. When I see what my fire fighter friends made and get as a pension, I'm sorry I didn't get into that. I almost did in my early 20s, but didn't know how to go about it.

I thought being a garbage collector looked fun when I was little. Either driving the truck or going house to house and dumping the garbage cans in the truck's compactor. I would run and watch them from the kitchen window on the morning they came by.

Based on my music collection, some folks might way I fulfilled that wish.
Don't fake the funk on a nasty dunk!

harvey k-tel
Long Player

Re: What did you want to be when you grew up?

Postby harvey k-tel » 26 Sep 2018, 17:38

sloopjohnc wrote:
What I really wanted to be was a garbage man...

Who says you're not?
If you've got nothing to do, don't do it here.

Sneelock

Postby Sneelock » 26 Sep 2018, 17:54

I wanted to be Merv Griffin. I'd get home from school and watch the afternoon broadcast until someone made me "go outside and play". I'd run down the driveway to the garage door and check the lining of the jacket I wasn't wearing. I'd shift my weight from leg to leg and attempt an amusing and humble monologue to the dog and the sawhorses.

SPOILER ALERT: I did not grow up to be Merv Griffin.
Give me a C, a bouncy C!

GoogaMooga
custodian of oldies

Postby GoogaMooga » 26 Sep 2018, 17:55