audiobooks

in reality, all of this has been a total load of old bollocks
hippopotamus

audiobooks

Postby hippopotamus » 06 Dec 2017, 00:36

Anybody else get caught in the audible trap?

Sign up for a 30 day free trial get a "free credit", forget to cancel, and while you pay your monthly subscription you get those "free credits". Then you think you should probably get one more but then you'll definitely quit. And then one more.

Anyhow, I quit it but it didn't stick.

I now have an hour of walking a day and looking for recommendations.
Anyone?
My epitaph, please

billy wrote:She took no shit. Very confident and no nonsense woman. Wears her drawers back to front these days ...

Good on her!

Jimbo

Re: audiobooks

Postby Jimbo » 06 Dec 2017, 01:03

I'm a member. I have been paying about $14 a month for about five or six years and except for a few glitches along the way I enjoy the service and the books. You are entitled to one book a month but you can claw back a bit on the company by downloading your monthly choice into your iTunes and then asking for a refund which they give no questions asked. Then you get a new credit for another book. So it's more like all-you-can-read rather than one book per month.
persona non grata among those who worship at the altar of conventional wisdom

Charlie O.

Postby Charlie O. » 06 Dec 2017, 03:30

If you're looking for something really stupidly funny, I enjoyed this:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » 06 Dec 2017, 03:45

The Bernie Gunther series by Philip Kerr are addictive. Audible is good about sorting the book series into order. The Patrick O'Brian (author) Jack Aubrey/Stephen Maturin series is there too. Oh, goodness, there are so many good choices!

The Modernist

Postby The Modernist » 06 Dec 2017, 09:16

I can never get as immersed in hearing someone read something as I can reading it myself. I don't really get it.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » 06 Dec 2017, 09:34