Pantheist
13%
Autotheist
6%

Total votes: 54

Rayge

So, GOD then

Postby Rayge » 08 Jul 2014, 12:57

Seeing as how the revived thread on politics has brought the board together again in peace and harmony, I thought it would be apt to bring in that other great social lubricant, religious belief, but to save people writing screeds, I've provided a handy poll.
I'm no expert, but I think I've covered most categories (for fear of complications, and of having too many options, I've left out sub-categories such as rationalist and irrationalist atheist , one-is-one-and-all-alone and trinitarian monotheists, wibble-eyed fundie crazies in all categories*, and so on). Feel free to add others (preferably from your experience rather than acid-fuelled thought experiments – not that there's anything wrong with those), although I don't know if I can add them to the poll.

Here's a brief explanation of what I mean by the terms, expressed as a typical answer to the question, 'Do you believe in God?'
Atheist - 'There's no such thing, except in the minds of (obviously deluded) people, and [militant wing only] it's my duty to point this out at every opportunity.'
Non-theist - 'Whut? Pisht!'
Agnostic - 'I'm prepared to believe in a god or gods, providing s/he takes time out of their busy day to show me the proper ID / smack me in the face with a haddock'
Monotheist (male) - 'He did it all. Kneel and praise Him!'
Monotheist (female) - 'The Great Mother made us all. Dance and praise her!'
Polytheist – 'There are many gods, each with specific areas of concern and distinct personalities. Propitiation is the name of the game' (The Graeco-Roman-Egyptian model)
Pantheist - 'God is everywhere, man, like, you know – OMG don't step on that ant'
Autotheist – 'Every Man and Woman is a Star'

Spread the BCB love, people ('Sarcasm?' - Dr S Cooper)

*'Why are by-the-book Xians known as Fundamentalists?' 'Because they are talking out of their arses.'
You can't play a tune on an absolute